log in | register | forums
Show:
Go:
Forums
Username:

Password:

User accounts
Register new account
Forgot password
Forum stats
List of members
Search the forums

Advanced search
Recent discussions
- Sunday coding session with Gerph on Sunday (News:1)
- Rougol July 2024 meeting on monday (News:1)
- Livestream coding session with Gerph this sunday (News:2)
- WROCC July 2024 meeting - Draw/ROD double bill (News:)
- WROCC July 2024 meeting on... Hughes and Peter Richmond (News:)
- July developer 'fireside' chat is on saturday night (News:)
- June 2024 News Summary (News:)
- Gerph's live coding session on Youtube (News:4)
- Rougol June 2024 meeting on monday (News:1)
- WROCC June 2024 meeting - Mark Moxon dissects Lander (News:1)
Related articles
- Wakefield 2003 - the preview
- Preview - Iron Dignity
- Preview - Descent 2
- Preview - TEK
- King and Country Preview
- F16 Fighting Falcon Preview
- Acorn games news
- Preview: Price of Loyalty
- Heretic and Hexen preview
- News archive: December 1998
Latest postings RSS Feeds
RSS 2.0 | 1.0 | 0.9
Atom 0.3
Misc RDF | CDF
 
View on Mastodon
@www.iconbar.com@rss-parrot.net
Site Search
 
Article archives
Acorn Arcade forums: News and features: Preview - Santa Cool
 

Preview - Santa Cool

Posted by Andy Spence on 00:00, 2/1/2005 | , ,
 
Santa Cool

 
Santa Cool in game
Santa Cool is a pet project of mine which I started a long time ago and haven't really done much on since. The idea was for it to be a PD game for the RiscPC that could be released around Christmas time, for obvious reasons. I can't even pretend that I can program and the coding is very bad basic, but I feel that it could be a very playable public domain platformer. You can see 4 snapshots down this page from the only four levels that are yet in existance (click on them to load the full size picture). I have spent a lot of time creating all
the pre-rendered graphics in 3D and the result is a set of high quality graphics.

 
Santa Cool in gameAt the moment, the only features that are implemented are: A complete platform system; ability to create level maps manually; two baddies with adjustable variables and the ability to create more (when I get around to creating the graphics); different types of animated bonuses; a lives system for the main character; spikes and huge snow balls that kill Santa; switches/doors.
 
Santa Cool in gameAt present, the aim of the game is to avoid being killed (not touching the moving baddies or other hazards) and to collect all the bonuses on each screen before moving on to the next. I plan to add moving blocks and additional hazards when I get the time but I need your input.


 
What I want to know is do you people think its worth my effort? I have exams in the immediate future, but after that I have lot of spare time.
Santa Cool in game
I want to set the standard for design and presentation with this game because I feel that this is something that is often neglected in most RiscOS PD, budget and commercial games. Please let me know what you think by emailing me. I have uploaded a zipped demo below, for you to download. Please read the 'Help.txt' file inside. Please include any comments, ideas or recommendations. Cheers.
 
Santa Cool Zip download. 89k

 
All information and contact details here are as of 17th April 2000, and thus very outdated

 
Log in to comment on this article

Acorn Arcade forums: News and features: Preview - Santa Cool